Abuse | Child Abuse (Includes Child Abuse in an Educational Setting)

Child Abuse Reporting
Child Abuse is defined in law at Section 412 of the Social Services Law and in Section 1012 of the Family Court Act. Reporting is required by mandated reporters when a parent or other person legally responsible for a child's care inflicts serious physical injury, creates a substantial risk of serious physical injury, or commits an act of sex abuse against the child. It applies to the abuser and anyone who allow someone else to abuse the child. 

NYS Laws On Child Abuse Reporting 
(Links to NYSCSH Laws page)

NYSED Education Law 23-B Reporting Requirements for Report of Child Abuse which occurs in an Educational Setting-Effective 7/1/2001.

NYS Social Services Law - Title 6, Section 413  Persons and officials required to report cases of suspected child abuse or maltreatment.

Educational Neglect
In August of 2006, §34-a of Social Services Law (SSL) was amended to require the Commissioner of the Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS), in conjunction with the Commissioner of the State Education Department (SED), to develop model practices and procedures for local social services districts and school districts regarding the reporting and investigation of educational neglect.

NYSED Memos related to Child Abuse Reporting
(Links to NYSCSH Guidelines|Memos page)

Regulations Requiring Posting of the Child Abuse Hotline Telephone Number and Directions to Accessing the NYS Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) Website in both English and Spanish. Includes sample notification. (NYSED Memo, 2/21/17). 

Regulatory Changes Pertaining to Child Protective Services Workers Conducting Interviews of Children in Schools.(NYSED Memo, 11/29/16).

NYS Education Department Resources on the NYS Student Support Services Website

New York State Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) Preventing Child Abuse
The NYS OCFS maintains the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR, also known as the “hotline”) for reports made pursuant to the Social Services Law.

Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment (LDSS-2221A). This written report is to be filed with the appropriate local CPS. Mandated reporters may request the address of the investigative district from the SCR’s child protective specialist at the time of the oral report to the SCR. LDSS-2221A is available in multiple languages.

Summary Guide for Mandated Reporters in NYS-Provides mandated reporters with an overview of their obligations and some basic information about the New York State Child Protective Services (CPS) system (includes mandated reporter hotline telephone numbers).
OCFS Pub-1159 (Rev. 04/2018)

Mandated Training for Identification and Reporting of Child Abuse in New York State

Through a contractual agreement with the Center for the Development of Human Services/Institute for Community Health Promotion/SUNY Buffalo State, training for all mandated reporters in New York State is available at no cost to participants. The 2-hour course allows you up to 30 days to complete the entire course. A certificate of attendance is sent upon completion and two hours of training credit are provided.

Resources:

Child Welfare Information Gateway-Resources on child welfare, abuse and neglect, out-of-home care, adoption, and more. Printed and electronic publications, websites, databases, and online learning tools including resources that can be shared with families. (Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)

SAY NO! Protecting Children Against Sexual Abuse-NYS Office of Child and Family Services brochure for parents to teach their children safety  (Rev. 7/16)

Recognizing & Reporting Child Abuse & Neglect: Questions Often Asked By Friends, Neighbors, and Relatives-Prevent Child Abuse New York

Page updated 10/25/18